1. Home>
  2. Poker News>
  3. Pieter de Korver Wins EPT Monte Carlo Grand Final
  • Pieter de Korver Wins EPT Monte Carlo Grand Final

    Monday, May 11th, 2009 by t2admin

The PokerStar.net European Poker Tour Grand Final in Monte Carlo has come to an end after six days of poker play and it was Pieter de Korver, the newest member of the Team PokerStars Pro Netherlands who came up with the win, earning €2.3million for the first place finish.

The EPT Monte Carlo main event had a buy-in of €10,600 and a record number of 935 players anted up the cash to try their hand at taking the top prize. Though they tried their best, no one was able to knock de Korver out of the competition.

It has only been two short years since de Korver turned poker pro and this was only his third EPT event. de Korver did have to fight for the win during final table play. At one point he was down to just two big blinds before he won several hands to take the chip lead.

Several poker pros competed in the event at the Salle des Etoiles at the Monte Carlo Bay Resort including Team PokerStars pros Daniel Negreanu, Peter Eastgate, Joe Hachem, Greg Raymer and Chris Moneymaker but it was de Korver’s turn to earn a win.

De Korver commented on his win stating: “It’s amazing. I was loving the atmosphere and just really enjoying playing cards. I had a little bit of luck…and then I won. That’s the best part of poker.”

Poker Stars.net aired the last two days of the tournament on their online television channel in eight different languages and the event was also filmed for television so many millions will be able to see de Korver take down the tournament.

The next stop on the tour is in Moscow Russia and will begin in August on the 17th through the 23rd. it will be interesting to see if the Moscow event will bring as large of a crowd as the Monte Carlo event was able to do.

Final Results:
1st Place: Pieter de Korver (Holland) – €2,300,000
2nd Place: Matthew Woodward (United States) – €1,300,000
3rd Place: Mikhail Tulchinskiy (Russia) – €800,000
4th Place: Dag Martin Mikkelsen (Norway) – €600,000
5th Place: Eric Qu (France) – €470,000
6th Place: Alem Shah (Germany) – €350,000
7th Place: Daniel Zink (Germany) – €250,000
8th Place: Peter Traply (Hungary) – €170,000




About Us | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Site Map

If you are interested in learning more about online poker, try searching on Yahoo, the Open Directory Project, or Bing.