1. Home>
  2. Poker News>
  3. PokerStars EPT London Main Event won by Aaron Gustavson
  • PokerStars EPT London Main Event won by Aaron Gustavson

    Monday, October 12th, 2009 by t2admin

The 2009 Poker Stars European Poker Tour London Main Event has ended and it was online qualifier Aaron Gustavson who walked away with the win. Gustavson was able to outlast the field of 730 players to earn the £850,000 first place prize.

The main event had a buy-in of £5,300 and Gustavson was one of 149 players who earned a seat via a PokerStars qualifier. Gustavson is only twenty three years old and commented on his win by stating: “I’m overwhelmed right now. The money is obviously amazing and having a title is amazing. It’s a dream come true.”

When final table play began Gustavson was the chip leader but everyone was focused on Peter Eastgate who was close behind Gustavson in chips. The first few players to go would be Karim Bennani, Raymond Wu and Rui Milhomens. At this point Eastgate had earned a small chip lead but Gustavson would take out Dominic Cullen and Martin Gudvangen and Nikolai Senninger were knocked out which left Gustavson with a 2 to 1 chip lead over Eastgate when heads up play began between the two players.

After the dinner break the two came back to finish the main event. on the first hand Eastgate would see his chip stack reduced by half and then would be at a six to one disadvantage. It would be only six hands later that Eastgate would be eliminated from the competition. The final hand would see Eastgate go all in with A-9 and was called by Gustavson who held A-Q, which would give Gustavson the win.

Eastgate commented on his finish by stating: “I’m happy with the way I played getting to heads-up. Heads-up was very few hands, but until the last hand, I can’t fault myself for anything. I won a half million pounds, so you can’t really ask for much more than that.”

Final Results:

1. Aaron Gustavson – £850,000
2. Peter Eastgate – £530,000
3. Nikolai Senninger – £285,000
4. Martin Gudvangen – £227,000
5. Dominic Cullen – £173,000
6. Rui Milhomens – £124,000
7. Raymond Wu – £87,000
8. Karim Bennani – £50,100




About Us | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Site Map

If you are interested in learning more about online poker, try searching on Yahoo, the Open Directory Project, or Bing.