1. Home>
  2. Poker News>
  3. Sam Trickett Wins European Poker Tour Player of the Year
  • Sam Trickett Wins European Poker Tour Player of the Year

    Thursday, January 26th, 2012 by Ryan

Sam Trickett is a big name in poker, but when his name was announced as the winner of the 2012 European Poker Tour Awards Player of the Year, it was considered by many to be a bit of an upset. Trickett, who is from the United Kingdom, took down the award over another big name in poker in Jake Cody, who has actually won the Triple Crown of Poker. Both players have played incredibly impressive poker over the recent year, but it was Trickett who took down the award at the EPA’s, which took place in France at the Aviation Club de Paris. The awards were all based on last year (2011) through the calendar year, and Trickett and Cody both had some tough competition for the award, as they were up against the likes of current World Series of Poker Main Event Champion Pius Heinz, well-known poker pro Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier, Andrey Pateychuk, and Eugene Katchalov. The voting was done by an eight member group who were put together by the EPA.

Trickett’s performance through 2011 was nothing short of spectacular as he earned over $4.5 million throughout the year, and also took down some big time poker tournaments as well. At the 2011 Aussie Millions he won one of the largest events out there in the $100k High Roller event, and then finished in second at the Super High Roller Event, which is an incredible $250k buy-in. As far as other big tournament wins that he had, he also took down the Partouche Poker Tour Main Event later in the year. All of these deep runs and wins were enough to get him the win for Player of the Year. Cody on the other hand was incredibly impressive as well, as winning poker’s Triple Crown is one of the most impressive feats in all of Poker. He completed this during the World Series of Poker when he took down his first gold bracelet.

It wasn’t a trip for nothing for three of the other players who were in the talks for player of the year, as Grospellier, Heinz, and Pateychuk also won an award a piece as well. For Pateychuk, his award was the Rookie of the Year in poker, Heinz won Best Tournament Performance of the Year for his impressive win at the 2011 World Series of Poker Main Event, and Grospellier won the award for the Rob Gardner Memorial Poker Personality of the Year award. Another interesting award that was handed out was the award for Europe’s Best Female Poker Player, which was between two incredibly well known players in Liv Boeree and Victoria Coren, and also Natalya Nikitina, Barbara Martinez, Nesrine Kourdourli, and Cecilia Pescaglini. In the end, it was Nikitina who won this award in part because of her impressive win at the World Poker Tour Russia last year.

There were quite a few awards handed out throughout the night, but one award that definitely had some meaning behind it was the Lifetime Achievement Award that was given to poker announcer Jesse May. This was given to one player, and while he had no competition, many people feel that May shouldn’t have had competition for this one as he has been great for the game of poker with his incredible hosting skills over the years.




About Us | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Site Map

If you are interested in learning more about online poker, try searching on Yahoo, the Open Directory Project, or Bing.