1. Home>
  2. Poker News>
  3. Two Players Inducted to Pokers Hall of Fame
  • Two Players Inducted to Pokers Hall of Fame

    Sunday, October 30th, 2011 by Ryan

Being inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame is a feat that all poker players dream of, but very few even come close to. Currently, there are 40 players who have “won” their way into the Poker Hall of Fame, which includes the likes of Phil Hellmuth, Erik Seidel, Dan Harrington, Mike Sexton, Barbara Enright, T.J. Cloutier, Johnny Chan, Stu Ungar, Doyle Brunson, and many other of the best poker players in the history of the game. On top of those players, there are also players who have made it into the Poker Hall of Fame for more than just winning tournaments or being excellent cash game players, such as Benny Binion who is the founder of the WSOP, Henry Orenstein who is the patent holder of the hole card camera, and Walter Clyde Pearson who came up with the idea for a freezeout tournament. Every player has made the Hall of Fame for different reasons, and these two players who were inducted in 2011 are no different, as they are both incredibly talented players.

Barry Greenstein and Linda Johnson are now the two newest players to be entered into the Poker Hall of Fame, and will represent the 41st and 42nd members of the Hall. Johnson’s induction makes her the second woman to be inducted after Barbara Enright was inducted back in 2007. Greenstein is widely considered to be one of the best high stakes cash game players in the game today, but one of the main reasons why he is a fan favorite is the fact that he is known for giving tournament winnings to charity fairly consistently. These good deeds have earned him the nickname “The Robinhood of Poker”. He has also won at least six figures on the live poker tournament circuits over the past nine years in a row! As far as gold bracelets go, he has won three WSOP bracelets, and also has two World Poker Tour titles. Johnson on the other hand has quite a few accomplishments of her own both on and off of the felt. She won a World Series of Poker gold bracelet back in 1997, but was also the publisher of Card Player Magazine. Johnson also is the founder of the Tournament Director’s Association, and served on the Board of Directors for the World Poker Tour as well.

The ceremony for these two players will be set on November 8th in Las Vegas, and will run as part of the November Nine’s World Series of Poker Main Event production. The voting for the Poker Hall of Fame this year was based off of 35 votes, which included 18 from current members of the Hall of Fame, and 17 from members of the poker media. Greenstein and Johnson had a tough field to beat out in order to make it, but they beat out the likes of Huck Seed, Scotty Nguyen, Jennifer Harman, John Juanda, Tom McEvoy, Marcel Luske, Annie Duke, and Jack McClelland. The ceremony will kick off at 4:30pm at the Rio in the Penn and Teller Theatre.




About Us | Contact Us | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Site Map

If you are interested in learning more about online poker, try searching on Yahoo, the Open Directory Project, or Bing.